In 1919 the Pilkington Glass Company
acquired land in Kirk Sandall and built a glass factory. To house
its workers the Pilkington family built the garden village of
Kirk Sandall and including many amenities such as the bowling
and cricket clubs.
By the 1960s the old village of Kirk Sandall had virtually disappeared
and the church was isolated from the new village. A new church
and church hall were built and St Oswald's church was redundant.
In 1980 it was taken over by The
Redundant Churches Fund, which is now known as The
Churches Conservation Trust. It cares for and maintains the
church so that this priceless gem can be preserved for future
generations to enjoy.
It is the aim of the Friends of St Oswald's to open the church
for public use at weekends in spring and summer. Why not join
the friends to help us to do this and more.